Mahindra's awesome Super XUV500 places first in the 12th Desert Storm rally

WU staff | Motorsport | March 5, 2014
Mahindra's awesome Super XUV500 places first in the 12th Desert Storm rally

India's largest UV manufacturer Mahindra & Mahindra's rally spec Super XUV500 has proved its mettle once again, grabbing the top spot in the Xtreme category of the 12th edition of the Desert Storm rally.

Driven by Sunny Sidhu and Co-piloted by PVS Murthy, Team Mahindra Adventure’s Super XUV500 placed first with an overall completion time of 12hrs 47min and 42sec, beating Team Thunderbolt's Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar who placed second by over 20 minutes.

The Super XUV 500 has created history by becoming the first ever diesel powered vehicle to win the Desert Storm rally. Last year the team came close to winning, grabbing the 2nd, 3rd as well as 4th spots in the 11th edition of Desert Storm.

“The Super XUV500 is on a winning streak and will continue to create history and make & break records in times to come. We dedicate this unprecedented win to millions of Mahindra customers & fans across the nation,” said Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer at Mahindra.

Desert Storm is one of the most popular rallies in India, given the tough conditions of driving through the Thar Desert and vast salt flats. In its 12th edition the rally was over 3,000 km long and passed through locations like Sadarseher, Bikaner, Jaisalmer & Jaipur.

In the latest edition 55 teams participated in the Xtreme category, 30 teams in Ndure category and 20 teams in Xplore category.


Sunny Sidhu / P.V.S. Murthy (Mahindra Adventure) Position 1 (12:47:42)

Sandeep Sharma / Varun Davessar (Team Thunderbolt) Position 2 (13:08:20)

Amarjeet Pal Buwal / Nakul Mendiratta (Team Thunderbolt) Position 3 (13:13.34)

Lohitt Urs / K. Kumar (Mahindra Adventure) Position 4 (13:18:35)

Subscribe to our Newsletter
More stories
AUS GP: Nico Rosberg emerges as the victor
Nico Rosberg drove his Mercedes to a superlative victory at the Australian Grand Prix, however Red Bull's woes continued as their driver Daniel Riccardo was..
Force India unveils official colours for 2014
Vijay Mallya owned Formula One team Sahara Force India has given us a sneak preview of their 2014 car sporting all-new livery which will be..
The first of its kind event in India, Tata's truck Read more
Fiat India in order to tap into the fast growing Read more